Some people state that art courses such as painting or drawing shouldn't be made compulsory for high school students.To what extend do you agree or disagree?

There is an opinion that high school students should not be made mandatory to learn non-academic subjects like painting or drawing. I completely agree with this notion as it may lower students’ chances of having well-paid occupations, and these subjects should be made optional for pupils.

It is understandable why some believe that making art subjects compulsory for students who learn in high schools is not necessary. It could be said that the foremost objective of people who attend school is to have a financially viable career after they finish. Therefore, students usually allocate more time to core subjects like maths, science, and language, whose performance is placed heavy emphasis by higher education institutions and employers alike. Making non-academic subjects compulsory, conversely, is synonymous with reduced time for academic ones, which can discourage graduates from securing high-paid jobs. As such, there is no need to make art disciplines mandatory for high school students.

In my opinion, these art subjects should be made optional for undergraduates to learn. This is predicated on the assumption that it maintains an environment where young talents can achieve their full potential. Anh Vien, a famous painter in Vietnam, used to say that she was given enough time to balance between academic subjects and painting when she studied in high school. It was the primary culprit behind her success nowadays with a multitude of beautiful pictures that have been attractive to a lot of individuals. Most of the other prominent artists in Vietnam also shared this experience and felt positive about making art subjects optional.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that high school students should not be made compulsory to learn art disciplines as it can reduce students’ chances of obtaining high-salary jobs, and these subjects should be made optional for pupils.