Some people suggest that a country should try to produce all the food for its population and import as little food as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is commonly believed that countries should try to produce all the food for their citizens and import as little food as possible. I completely disagree with this opinion as not all countries have suitable climate or land to grow foods and importing food offers variety of foods.

Firstly, all countries do not have a suitable weather or land to grow plants. When Some countries like Russia face challenges while growing foods due to climate change and poor quality of soil. As a result, if these countries produce food for their citizens and do not import, they are more likely to burden their economies. For example, research shows that some countries cannot feed their population as they cannot produce all kinds of food.

Secondly, importing food allows people to eat different kinds of food, fruits and vegetables. Different countries grow different foods, fruits, and vegetables based on their climate. As a consequence, people can enjoy different foods. For instance, some countries import bananas or other fruits or vegetables from countries where they grow naturally.

Lastly, importing foods improves cooperation between countries. When countries import from each other, they communicate with each other. Consequently, they are more likely to help each other even to deal with other problems. For example, many countries build strong bonds because of cooperation.

In conclusion, although some people argue that a country should produce food for its population and try to import less, I believe that countries shouldn’t produce all foods since they cannot produce various kinds of food and importing foods allows people to enjoy their lives.