Some people that traditional games are better than modern games helping for children progress their abilities To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that traditional games are more beneficial for youngsters to hone their skills than modern games. I firmly disagree with this statement, as old-fashioned games tend to show poorer accessibility and recreational categories compared to contemporary ones

One of the major reasons why traditional games cannot bring many benefits to youngsters’ personal development is their insignificant availability for children. Unlike modern games, in which players can easily find partners to share interests by using technological advancements, traditional entertainment often requires participants to actively seek co-players to enjoy it. In contrast to this inconvenience, with the widespread popularity of portable electronic devices, such as smartphones, children are able to connect with their favorite recreational activities whenever they want. This results in an ease of prompted access to vast amounts of both local and international players, fostering personal growth among youngsters. For example, many psychologists point out that as a result of more teamwork practices between various overseas communities integrated in online games, interpersonal abilities and foreign language skills of young gamers have increased substantially in the past few years.

The diversity of recreational choices is another exclusive advantage that modern games possess. Due to a lack of flexibility and limitation of physical equipment, such as printed cards or wooden boards for chess, it is extremely convenient and time-consuming for game creators to come up with a new genre of these practices. As a result, youngsters will have difficulty in choosing games that are suitable for their characteristics. Conversely, by providing diverse types of entertainment, modern games manage to satisfy all expectations from players. Ranging from strategic games to digital puzzles, such practices nurture cognitive growth of each individual, leading to well-rounded development among children. For instance, according to a recent report, minors who get used to video games are more likely to grow up with better critical-thinking skills compared to those with board games.

In conclusion, the lack of availability and diversity in game genres are the two major reasons why I strongly disagree with the viewpoint that traditional games are more sufficient than modern ones when it comes to children’s potential growth.