Some people thick that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true functions of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What , in your opinion, should be the main function of a university

People have differing views on whether universities should provide graduates with useful knowledge for the workplace, or if they should give all kinds of knowledge, regardless if it will be useful for work. I believe that universities should teach all types of knowledge, even if it is not directly used in work.

On the one hand, teaching skills that are specifically tailored to be useful in the workplace can improve a person’s work efficiency. Students who are taught about the workplace and what to expect will subsequently be used to its atmosphere and the way it operates. They will also begin to integrate the skills and the knowledge they have learnt in university in their work habits. This benefit is already visible in the real world, university students who are active in internships and part-time work have significantly higher efficiency in their work when they enter a full time job. If all university students were to be educated about work (similar to these internships), they would be able to increase their work quality and productivity.

On the other hand, having courses for all types of knowledge, regardless of its use, will improve research and development. If students were to be taught all kinds of knowledge, they would be able to learn various things about the world. The knowledge derived from these heterogeneous courses can then be used to further develop their respective fields, leading to many benefits for the world. For example, a majority of individuals who innovated and revolutionized technology used a broad range of information, most of which are generally said to be useless in the workplace, such as complex math equations and theoretical physics.

In conclusion, while teaching the skills and knowledge necessary for the workplace could increase productivity, teaching various kinds of knowledge would be more beneficial for the world overall.