Some people thin that the best way to solve the problem of air pollution in cities is to increase the cost of vehicle fuel. Others think that different measures should be taken. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Air pollution is an alarming issue in the recent day and age. Regarding the steps to mitigate air pollution, there is an ongoing debate. While some people suggest the increment of fuel prices to reduce air pollution, some propose other methods to attain the same objective. According to me, increasing fuel prices is not an effective way to reduce air pollution. Using other measures is a wiser choice to attain the same goal.

To start, I agree that there are significant advantages of increasing fuel prices to reduce air pollution. Increasing fuel prices will definitely restrict people from wasting fuel. Moreover, people will become cautious about certain habits like turning the engine off in traffic or at signals. However, the disadvantages of increasing fuel prices cannot be overlooked. Certain emergency services, like the Police and Ambulance, which require fuel will face challenges if fuel prices rise. This can hamper their efficiency and, naturally, affect people. Furthermore, increasing fuel prices can damage the revenue of the oil and petroleum industry significantly.

However, other methods, as proposed by the critics, can prove to be more feasible to mitigate the problem of air pollution. An effective way in this case can be locating industries that release toxic gases on the outskirts of the city. Furthermore, imposing strict penalties for keeping the car engine on at signals can be an efficient step. Finally, other measures like reducing deforestation, promoting afforestation, minimising the use of electrical appliances like refrigerators and air conditioners, spreading awareness through campaigns, etc., can be effective measures.

To conclude, air pollution is a crucial issue that should be taken with utmost seriousness. However, increasing fuel prices is not an effective way to deal with the issue. Implementing other methods, as suggested by some people and discussed previously, is a wiser and more effective option to tackle air pollution.