Some people think a job not only provides income but also social life. Others think it is better to develop social life with people you do not work with. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In recent years, occupation offers people not only financial stability but also helps them to build social networks between colleagues. This has created two schools of thought: one claims that a job can bring about great benefits to one’s personal relationship while the other argues that it is better to develop friendship with people from other workplaces. This essay will elaborate on these two points of view and shed light on why I am in favor of the former one.

On one hand, friendship at work offers real-time support and fosters a sense of belonging. To be specific, colleagues know each other’s job challenges, tasks, and daily responsibilities as they share the same office environment. Therefore, unlike outside friends, coworkers may be easier to assist each other, provide relevant emotional support, and boost motivation. By sharing this way, individuals can not just overcome job stress but can also encourage long-term commitment.

On the other hand, developing a social life with people from other workplaces may expand networking opportunities. Friends from different industries may introduce a diverse network, give an exposure to a variety of career paths, and offer fresh perspectives. Admittedly, these experiences diversify people’s career choices and provide them with broader viewpoints on life. I, nevertheless, am unconvinced by this as developing social connections in multiple workplaces might lead to a lack of focus on primary job or responsibilities. Spending too much time bonding outside may divide employees’ attention, affecting their productivity and performance.

In conclusion, while friends from other industries can certainly offer networking benefits, it may come with potential drawbacks such as the risk of losing focus on primary responsibilities. In contrast, workplace relationships provide practical, immediate support and foster a sense of connection that directly contributes to job productivity and improvement.