Some people think all lawbreakers should be put into prison, while others believe that there are better alternatives. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about whether all lawbreakers should be punished by putting into prison, or there are more suitable replacements. While some lawbreakers deserve to go to prison, I would argue that not all people breaking the rules should receive this punishment.

On the one hand, there are several reasonable causes that some lawbreakers have to be put into jail. Firstly, if the laws broken by people are extremely serious, they cannot avoid strict punishments. For example, when someone is caught selling weapons illegally, he or she should be put into prison to ensure fairness and safety for other residents. Secondly, having the ability to put lawbreakers into jail can help governments control the society as well as decline crime rates. Strict punishments can strongly affect people’s awareness, so they may think twice before deciding to break any rule because of the fear of ending the rest of their lives in prison.

On the other hand, putting into prison can be an unfair punishment for some people breaking usual laws, so there are better alternatives, such as financial punishments, for them. Not only can these replacements be enough to stop people breaking laws, but they also generally help develop people’s living conditions. Specifically, some lawbreakers can be fined due to their mistakes. For instance, financial punishments can be used to warn people causing vandalism or not following traffic rules correctly, and the money can be donated for charities or invested in new facilities. Another way to prevent people from breaking laws may be forcing them to work for voluntary activities. This can be seen when people have to clean their area daily after being caught littering.

In conclusion, although many lawbreakers should be put into jail when they commit serious crimes, there are still other ways to warn people about the consequences of breaking laws.