Some people think all lawbreakers should be put into/sent to prison, while others believe that better tanlents among those should be made to work. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

A significant number of people believe that incarceration is the only approach for all criminals, whereas others advocate for alternative measures, such as community service and skills training. I tend to support both views, as, while prison is necessary for serious crimes, lenient punishment offer a more constructive solution for minor offences.

On the one hand, imprisonment is the most effective method of protecting society from lawbreakers. By isolating dangerous individuals, authorities guarantee that the public remains safe from violent offenders, repeat criminals, and those who pose a serious threat. For instance,during serving a prison sentence, a person guilty of robbery will not be able to harm anyone. Moreover, the harsh reality of prison life deters both the offenders and potential criminals from breaking the law. Understanding that committing a crime leads to loss of freedom, separation from family and restricted daily life makes many people think twice before breaking the law. For those who have already been arrested,the desire to avoid returning to prison gives powerful motivation to stay on the right side of the law. Thus, not only does the imprisonment punish criminals, but also discourages future wrongdoing.

On the other hand, supporters of alternative punishment argue that prison is not the best way of dealing with crimes, especially with minor offences. Placing first-time offenders with experienced criminals can combine their ideas and lead to repeated lawbreaking, as they can learn new ways of breaking the law. Instead of focusing only on punishment, people suggest more loyal measures, which aim to address the roots of illegal behaviour. For example, if a person is guilty of vandalism, they could be responsible for cleaning parks and attend special courses, Such approach would benefits the public and give the opportunity for an offender to correct their mistakes.

In conclusion, both views have their strengths depending on the situation. While prison plays an essential role in dealing with serious criminals and protecting the public, alternative punishments are often more effective for minor or first-time offenders.