Some people think children should be encouraged to develop creativity through subjects like art and music, while others believe these do not prepare them for real life.

The argument over whether schools should concentrate on more practical subjects that prepare students for adult life or invest time in creative subjects such as music and art has gone on for many years. There are good arguments on both sides in reality.

Creative subjects provide children with the chance to think outside the box and be different. Painting, drawing, and learning to play a musical instrument enable young people to understand their feelings, develop their imagination, and become confident in themselves. These are not just something extra they can do—they tend to be the very things which make them stand out. A great majority of the most innovative ideas and discoveries in the world have been made by people who have had a solid creative foundation.

Conversely, other people say that one should spend more time learning skills that are practical in nature in subjects like science, mathematics, and technology. These are more directly associated with the probability of securing jobs in the future. It is an argument which makes sense, particularly for parents who would like to see their children sufficiently prepared for the competitive market of employment.

In my opinion, the most effective method is a balanced one. As much as it is necessary to provide students with the academic skills required in life after childhood, it is also necessary to foster creativity. A child’s imagination can mold his or her future as much as academic abilities, and often leads to the discovery of their real passion or calling.

In summary, nurturing both creativity and practical skills aids in creating well-rounded, emotionally intelligent people. Life, after all, is more than getting a job—it’s also about feeling deeply, thinking creatively, and making genuine human connections.