Some people think children should not use smartphones until they are at least 16 years old. Do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that youth under the age of 16 should not have access to social media. I completely disagree with this view because not only digital world can help children to connect with each other globally, but also it can help them to find local communities.

Social media can help children to connect with each other regardless of the country they are located at. This means that kids have this chance to share their experiences together and learn about each other’s culture. For instance, elementary students in Canada can share their method of studying and the atmosphere of their school to students in Japan and likewise. Therefore, social media can give children the opportunity to learn about different cultures and have a better understanding of the world when they grow up.

Another benefit of social media for children is that they can discover hidden local communities. In other words, these days most of the local communities have profiles on social media which allow children to explore and get more familiar with them. For example, In Canada there are multiple sports communities including volleyball, football and tennis which are specifically designed for children under the age of 16. As a results, social media can give this chance to children to find out about the communities around them which they were not aware of before visiting their social media page.

In conclusion, allowing children under the age of 16 to have social media can be beneficial since they can explore others culture and find communities to spend their time.