“Some people think everyone should be a vegetarian, because we do not need to eat meat to have a healthy diet” To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people believe that meat-free diet is better for health than the ordinary one. This lifestyle definitely has some advantages and drawbacks. However, I can’t completely agree with vegetarianism being healthier.

There are few reasons which make people think that we don’t need meat in our diet for overall well-being. Firstly, not consuming meat can help in weight loss. Rarely do vegetarians face overweight. It’s a result of their eating habits. Secondly, they might have better health and prolong their lives, preventing some diseases. For example, vegan foods have a lot of nutrients like fruits, vegetables, beans and cereals, which are rich in vitamins and microelements. Consuming these products you can lower risks of diabetes or obesity.

On the other hand, I don’t think that vegetarian diets are appropriate for all ages. First of all, meat is a main source of protein. This nutrient is essential for human’s body development. Despite there is special vegan meat which is made of soybeans, it’s not recommended for children to eat it because of possible negative impact on their organism. It is a well-known fact that kids need enough nutrients to develop and for this reason meat plays a crucial role in their nutrition. Not only is meat full of proteins, but it also can provide you with zinc. This element can help to reduce risks of having a stroke.

To sum up, in my view healthy eating doesn’t depend on whether person is a vegetarian or not. The most pivotal factor in the healthy diet is balance between different food groups.