“Some people think everyone should be a vegetarian, because we do not need to eat meat to have a healthy diet” To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals argue that people should be come a vegetarian, since meat is not necessary for an adequate diet. Personally, I completely agree with this view because to have a sufficient nutrient, people must spend a great deal of money.

On the one hand, the reason why people contend that every person should be a vegetarian is that this can prevent people from killing animals such as pigs or cows for meat. This is because every animal have the rights to live, and humans should respect their existences. Moreover, adapting and living together with animals make people feel comfortable. For example, in Singapore, since its government has implemented the policy to encourage its residents to eat vegetables, the number of animals killed per year declined remarkably by 2 millions, at the same time the satisfation rate rose dramatically from 80 percent to 87 percent.

On the other hand, although becoming a vegetarian reduces the number of animals which are killed, I still assert that to have a quality vegetable meal, people have to spend exorbitant price to daily achieve this. Since, high quality ingredients are difficult to find. Thus, this is not affordable for all types of people. Alternatively, the poor can choose to eat meat that is not only ensure the enough nutrients but also a reasonable price. For instance, in Vietnam, almost all people tend to eat pork or beef, and the reason is a average cost of a vegetable meal is about 200 dollars, while this figure is only around 54 dollars in meals including meat. Nevertheless, Vietnamese citizens still have a healthy body.

In conclusion, it is of no doubt that eating vegetable only instead of meat helps protecting animals. However, I firmly believe eating meat is healthy and more economical.