Some people think government should focus on reducing environmental pollution and housing problems to help people prevent illness and disease.

Many people argue that reducing environmental pollution and hosing problems falls only under the jurisdiction of the government, while others say that it is not the role of the government. I personally side by the latter half of the people strongly believing that this is more of a citizen responsibility.

It is true that government must focus on these things, and they do it by making policies. However, it is the task of the people to follow it and create an impact. Just making rules and not abiding by it is not at all sufficient. The government has ample number of matters to deal with and occupying them with basic tasks of sanitation would affect them.

Public awareness is itself enough to curb environmental pollution and housing problems as well. Recycling and reusing must be taught to children in the grass root level sowing a seed to a better future. The government could direct the teachers to implant these values in the mind of the toddler, but ultimately maintaining such an environment in the household is the responsibility of the guardians.

Maintaining a basic civic sense by not littering the land and waterbodies, switching to renewable energy sources like solar, avoid incineration of wastes, etc, can reduce the environmental pollution and therefore reducing the risk of diseases. Also instead of overpopulating a city or an area by living in temporary huts, spread out more evenly in the country, mastering jobs available there could be beneficial for the housing problems itself.

Reiterating the entire thing, I feel it is the responsibility of the individual to maintain a healthy surrounding. Government can help no doubt but ultimately it is the accountability of the citizens to follow and abide by the laws.