Some people think government should spend money on measurers to save language with few speakers from dying out completely. Other think this is a waste of financial resources. Discuss both views and give your opinion..

In today’s globalized world, many people are of the opinion that the government should allocate financial resources to save endangered languages spoken by only a small number of people, while others believe that this is a waste of public funds and we should let nature take its course. Although both schools of thought have their own merits, from my perspective, I agree with the latter.

On the one hand, proponents of spending government budgets on saving language from dying out typically highlight the importance of maintaining cultural identity. Indubitably, language is often regarded as a feature that is inextricably linked to the culture, lifestyle and heritage of a group of people. If these languages vanish, this would likely result in the loss of attached cultural identity, heritage and traditional knowledge which have been passed down through generations. As a consequence, this disappearance would severely threaten the survival of certain minority ethnic groups, ultimately leading to cultural homogenization.

On the other hand, there are several ongoing pressing issues that require the government’s monetary investment. One of the most imperative aspects is the healthcare and education systems. Irrefutably, many developing countries have limited financial resources, which should better be diverted to construction healthcare infrastructure and education. This would likely act as a catalyst not only to enhance the residents’ overall well-being but also create a conducive environment for long-term economic and social development of a nation. Resultantly, this financial allocation would serve as a solid foundation creating a healthier and more educated workforces, which in turn drives national progress and innovation.

In conclusion, while acknowledging that the preservation of endangered languages is crucial for maintaining cultural diversity, I am convinced that the government should spend its monetary resources on more pressing sectors including healthcare and education to ensure the well-being of their citizens and foster sustainable development.