Some people think having a university degree is the best way to secure a good job. However, others believe skills and experience are more important. Discuss both sides and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience. Write at least 250

Some people believe that obtaining a university degree is the most reliable path to secure a good job, while others believe practical skills and experience are of greater importance. In my opinion, there should be a balance between these two approaches as theoretical knowledge and practical skills are equally essential.

People who believe that higher education can help individuals in securing a job argue that most reputable firms and corporations, when recruiting for employees, generally prefer to hire graduates in universities as they have strong foundations and theoretical knowledge in their chosen field. The recruiters utilise their degree as a standard to filter out students of different level of capabilities. For example, in fields such as law, medicine, and engineering, companies look for students with in-depth knowledge of concepts, to ensure they meet the necessary standards. Moreover, the environment can lead to development on creativity and critical thinking skills, which may aid graduates in excelling in their careers.

On the other hand, people who believe skills and experience are also of paramount importance argue that only knowledge and understanding of a concept is not enough. Many industries such as plumbing, information technology, and carpentry require individuals to have hands-on experience along with theoretical knowledge. For example, IT sector companies will prefer an individual who has practical experience and skills in field, rather than someone who is recently graduated with little to no experience. Additionally, skilled learned through internships, apprenticeship, or self-training not help people in securing a good but can also aid in their individual endeavours.

Eventually, while a university degree can open the doors, skills and experience are also becoming more valuable in today competitive world. The best approach would be to combine the formal education with practical experience to maximise career potential.