Many people think technological devices such as smart phones and tablets bring more disadvantages than advantages. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a widespread view among people that technological gadgets such as mobile phones and tablets does more harm than good. However, I strongly disagree with this opinion for two main reasons.

There are indeed several advantages of using technological devices. Perhaps one of the most significant benefits of using digital devices is unlimited access to information. When individuals use portable electronic devices like smartphones and tablets, they can easily obtain information through social media platforms. Consequently, this enables them to stay aware of recent trends such as political news and social events. Additionally, digital devices can be a useful tool when learning a second language. With the advent of modern technology, many people are now using mobile phones and tablets to learn a second language, this can be observed especially among teenagers. As a result, this practice not only does allow people to attend online courses, but also helps them to make contacts, which dramatically enhances their networking skills.

Despite these benefits, however, I remain convinced that using smartphones and tablets has more negative effects than positive ones. Chief among them is constant distraction. When using mobile phones and tablets many people can be swiftly distracted by social media notifications. The implications are not confined to poor academic performance, but also extend to various health problems, such as eye strain and headaches. Moreover, waste of time could be another disadvantage that modern gadgets bring. While using smartphones and tablets, people frequently spent an extended period of time, which can lead to sedentary lifestyle. Therefore, people stay in front of the screen for a long time, instead of exercising or volunteering.

In conclusion, although contemporary mobile technologies, including smartphones and tablets can facilitate language learning and obtaining information, its overall impact is largely negative. People who use smartphones and tablets are likely to experience different health problems and a deterioration in academic performance.