Many people think technological devices such as smart phones and tablets bring more disadvantages than advantages. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a view that mobile technologies do more harm than benefit. I strongly disagree with this opinion for two main reasons.

There are several disadvantages to digitalisation. Firstly, people can easily be distracted by mobile devices, as they offer variety of entertaining programs that specifically designed to attract to themselves, leading to highly waste of time. The reckless use of smart phones with such apps disables human-beings from focusing on more advantageous activities, such as education or even work, which causes to a loss of work-life balance. Moreover, it may bring health-related problems. Being highly phone-addicted leads to obesity, caused by a sedentary lifestyle. Eyestrain is also considered as a result of overusing of screens, impairing their posture. These effects put health at a great risk.

However, on balance, mobile devices, including tablets and smart phones, possess more advantages than the drawback. Chief among them is that they enhance communication. Reaching out to a friend or relative in abroad is not a issue anymore thanks to the digital tools, which improved the connection the way more better compared to times when there were no any of them. Additionally, they are now the medium of storing personal information, educational tools, as well as any other type of documents which can be digitized. This enables many to carry out any necessary e-tools, ranging from personal ID cards to electronic books. Therefore, I disagree that they affect negatively on our development.

In conclusion, even though mobile devices might cause distraction or illnesses, their overall impact is largely positive. They ease the ways of communicating and can be a ‘storage-box’ of personal needs.