Some people think having a university degree is the best way to secure a good job. However, others believe skills and experience are more important. Discuss both sides and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience. Write at least 250

According to some people, getting placed in a company becomes easier when people hold a bachelors degree whereas others believe that skills and experience of the job aspirant are more important. In my opinion, securing a good job depends solely on the skills and experience of that candidate.

The candidates applying for a job with a university degree might check the box of basic qualifications that many companies look for. This is because a degree shows that the person has got basic communication and technical or non-technical knowledge with respect to the degree. But that does not imply that the candidate is talented. The reason for this is, the grades obtained at the university is purely based on theory exams and the exposure to practical lessons at universities is comparatively very low . For example, the lab facilities at Anna University is not great and due to which most of the theory concepts are not remembered. Therefore, this will affect the company’s efficiency.

While on the other hand, people with great practical skills and experience in the field need to be given attention. These skilled people will secure a good job because the hiring companies prefer a skilled person over unskilled due to increased growth rate in a short span of time. For instance, in Beehiiv, a content writer platform, founders tend to hire people with proficient writing skills to build the product in a more sophisticated and consumer-focused way rather than a person who has a degree in journalism but no portfolio.

In conclusion, a job applicant can secure a good job if that person has good skills and experience rather than a university degree, as this will not showcase his or her capabilities that recruiters are looking for in a job role.