Some people think health care should be free for everyone. Other think that people should pay their medical cost themselves. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Concerns regarding the financial healthcare has become a contentious issue. Some people are in the notion that healthcare should be free, whereas other proponents are against this. Although unpaid service would enable all to receive medical treatment, this can pose a burden on the government.

On the one hand, there are a host of reasons why healthcare should be free. The predominant one is that it is a fundamental human right. To elaborate, every individual has a right to access medical treatment irrespective of their financial situation. Moreover, it would lead to a healthier population. It will also increase life expectancy as treatment would be accessible. Furthermore, the other rationale is reduced cost of healthcare facilities. To explicate, if healthcare facilities become cost-free, the burden of high expenses for treatments or surgeries would be declined. As a result, it will be convenient for everyone to prevent from debt.

On the other hand, there are merit grounds why healthcare should not be free. The cardinal one is high cost of taxation. To explicate, if healthcare facilities are provided free to everyone, every individual, it would cause burden on the government to sustain the maintenance of such sectors. The authorities will implement high cost and tax, which would not be beneficial for middle class and poverty stricken groups. Additionally, another justification is the risk of overuse. To elaborate, the individual might consume more services if they are provided free. It would also increase the waiting time and exploit resources.

To recapitulate, healthcare should be free for all as it is a fundamental human right. It would not be effective on the government’s budget. In my opinion, healthcare should be provided at a reasonable cost.