Some people think homework is necessary for students, while others believe it should be banned. Discuss both views and give your opinion

There is a view that homework given to pupils by their school is not important, while it is also argued that homework has a crucial role to play in the education of children. I firmly believe that by being given homework by their teachers at school, children can feel a sense of responsibility in their lives, along with strengthening their knowledge.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why children should not receive homework. As children spend long hours at school, homework can be an excessive task, which can give rise to some issues. One of the concerning problems is that extra home tasks can prevent children from allocating their time to leisure activities, which can be extremely helpful, especially in the form of outdoor and indoor activities, particularly doing sports exercises, solving puzzles or just reading books. By doing so, they can broaden their horizon and improve their cognitive abilities as well as their mental and physical well-being. Apart from that, there is also an opportunity to spend their free time with their family members or friends, since they can socialise about different topics, which also develops bonding with them, and they can feel a sense of belonging to their family members and friends. Hence, considering all negative aspects of homework, which are all correlated with their time, some groups of individuals reckon that home tasks are not significant in children’s academic life.

When it comes to the benefits of homework, on the other hand, there are certain advantageous aspects of being assigned homework tasks. As homework is given in order to reinforce the students’ knowledge that they learnt during classes, homework is considered substantial in pupils’ academic performance. Firstly, homework serves as a daily obligation, which consequently turns into discipline. This, in turn, also develops self-reliance, meaning they can either learn other subjects or develop a kind of new skills in their future life due to independent study habits that are developed from early ages. Furthermore, there are also several benefits of home tasks to teachers and parents; it enables teachers to assess students’ grasp of knowledge straightforwardly, while in the case of parents, it provides an opportunity to monitor and support their child’s academic progress. That is why many people put more emphasis on the importance of homework in children’s education.

To conclude, homework is vital in educating children, since it is handy to enhance several qualities in children from the initial phase of their life, shaping a disciplined and responsible person. Admittedly, although there are some benefits to not receiving homework, which can pave the way for entertainment and family bonding, I think the advantages are far more crucial in the long term.