Some people think increasing the cost of fuel is the best way to solve global environmental problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There has long been a debate about solutions to environmental problems we are facing nowadays. One possible proposal is that higher fuel costs will be advantageous, resulting in a cleaner planet. I disagree with this idea for the reasons mentioned in this essay.

Some individuals assume expensive costs will discourage people from using cars and persuade them into more environmental friendly methods of transportation. People may realize that using public transportation is cheaper and in some scenarios more punctual. Aligned with its contribution to minimize air and noise pollution and traffic jams, it might actually work in the favor of our environment. Also those who dislike crowded buses or trains, might think it’s financially more reasonable to ride a bike.

Although it has been proven that expenditure changes can improve global issues, its impact wouldn’t be noticeable. Compared to the past, costs in many categories show an upward trend, but it hasn’t stopped the society from doing those same activities. Likewise, rising fuel expenses haven’t been successful in inhibiting personal car use and only increased spendings and general dissatisfaction in public. Additionally, as societies grow more introverted, people avoid public places and are drawn to personal options which are more comfortable, regardless of the price.

It is understandable that expensive gas and petrol costs can mildly affect current transportation trends, however, this would have an infinitesimal improvement and the major part of the population will continue to drive their vehicles, not improving global crisis.