Some people think it is better to have many short holidays during the year. Others believe it would be beneficial to have fewer, longer vacations. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Whether to have a lot of short holidays or few, longer vacations is, undoubtedly, a very controversial topic. There are benefits from both shorter and longer holidays, and it is obvious why people cannot agree on this issue.

On the one hand are the people who consider taking a lot of short holidays better. In reality, It could actually motivate people, as the holidays wouldn’t constantly be so far away. For example, you will no longer have that idea in the mind that you need to work for four months straight in order to have that three week holiday you are dreaming of. Just this thought can completely wipe out all the desire to work whatsoever. It is possible to go even further — instead of having a two weekends straight as usual, they may be more spread out. For instance, instead of having Saturday and Sunday as your weekends, it could be Wednesday and Sunday instead. The same concept works here, the less ti,e until weekend, the more motivation to work or study.

On the other hand, the reverse effect can be seen — the thought of having not that much time off can stress you out. Short holidays do not allow you to fully relax and clear your thoughts. Longer holidays are much more pleasurable, while one day off could seem it hasn’t even been there — you may just sleep all day and will not have a lot things done. Furthermore, short holidays may disrupt your workflow. For many people it just easier to start working and not stop until you are completely exhausted than disrupting your plans with short weekends.

To conclude, both points of view are valid, however I prefer to have few longer holidays rather a lot of short ones. I am that kind of person who is more efficient when I do everything in one go. Otherwise I will not do anything because the idea of having a holiday very soon really interrupts my workflow.