Some people think it is better to have many short holidays during the year. Others believe it would be beneficial to have fewer, longer vacations. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In today’s fast paced world, where taking time off has become increasingly important for maintaining overall well-being, many short holidays are considered by some people to be better, whereas others are of the opinion that fewer but longer vacations are more favorable. This essay will discuss both these views and argue in favour of the latter.

On the one hand, short and regular holidays taken by people often prevent burnouts and reduce stress. To make it clear, when individuals take short breaks from work or school, they return refreshed and more productive, thereby not only improving job performance, but also resulting in higher efficiency. Consequently, these short rests contribute to better time management and fewer errors at work. In contrast, without regular breaks, people are more likely to experience burnout and mental fatigue during busy periods.For instance, research from Stanford University revealed that short, regular breaks help maintain consistent levels of cognitive performance, while prolonged work without breaks leads to a sharp decline in focus and productivity.

On the other hand, longer but fewer holidays allow individuals for true detachment from work or study and full mental regeneration. To provide further explanation, longer weekends give enough time to actually relax, thereby enabling people to unwind both physically and mentally. For instance, research from the UK’s Chartered Institute indicates that companies experience less disruption in work when employees take fewer, longer holidays compared to frequent short absences, which often interrupt project timelines and require constant rescheduling. Therefore, longer, fewer vacations are superior to shorter ones.

In conclusion, while many people prefer regular short rests to maintain energy, I believe that fewer, longer breaks are more beneficial.