Some people think it is more important to spend money on roads and motorways than on public transport system. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the contemporary milieu, traffic problems are always the general interest. Some people assume that it is better for the government to improve roads and motorways than to invest in public transport systems. In this essay, I will explain why I totally disagree with this persuasion.

First of all, public transportation demonstrates its superiority in mitigating traffic accidents through its enhanced passenger capacity and standard route schedule. A standard public conveyance, such as a bus or train, can accommodate considerably more passengers and especially moves according to a system with specific routes and schedules will reduce negligent accidents of individuals . On the contrary, the expansion of roads and motorways, which typically transport a single occupancy, may increase the number of personal vehicles joining the roads. As a result, crowding, pushing and non-compliance with traffic laws would occur more frequently and cause more undesirable calamity.

Further support for my view is that investing in the public transportation system would solve a number of environmental problems, particularly air pollution. If dwellers use public transportation like buses and underground trains in lieu of private cars and motorbikes, the number of vehicles flowing on the roads will decrease significantly. That means the number of carbon emissions released into the atmosphere will decline, making the air fresher and the issues of air pollution will be alleviated. For instance, some populous countries such as the US and Japan have been testing mini bus systems, which not only release less emissions into the air but also help people avoid noise pollution.

In conclusion, because improving roads and motorways can lead to more accidents, I strongly believe that the government should spend public money to develop public transportation because of the many benefits it brings to people and the environment.