Some people think it would be a good idea for schools to teach every young person how to be a good parent. Do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Describe the skills a person needs to be a good parent

Nowadays, there are many people thinking that whether it would be a good idea for schools to teach every young person how to be a good parent. In my opinion, I totally agree with this suggestion, however, we should think about at which year or level we should teach them about this topic.

Students below 12 are only children and they may not have enough concepts about what parenting is because they have barely reached puberty at that age. Therefore, we may start the simple parenting course at around age 13 as this is the age when children develop into adolescents and that is exactly the age when they develop concepts of sex and romantic bonding.

Regarding the skill a person needs to be a good parent, I think parenting begins with unconditional love for the offspring. Loves come with responsibilities similar to rights come with duties. An offspring is a human who was created with love and like any other type of creature, parenting starts with nurturing, which simply means taking care of the minors. However, caring is not enough when we talk about parenting, a minor knows nothing about the rules of this world, and his parents are his first role model in this world. Thus, good parents have to be good role models themselves such as having a healthy lifestyle, self-disciplined and embracing positivity psychologically.

Youngsters growing up in a loving and positive environment have very little chance of walking towards the wrong path throughout their lives. A loving and positive environment also means that the parents are both supporting each other and it usually brings financial stability to their family. Studies done by scholars have shown that a financially stable family increases the chance of children growing up in a safe environment.

In conclusion, parenting skills should be taught at an older age and it should start with the concept of love. Discipline should start from the parents and extend to their children. Also, creating a positive environment is also a vital parenting skill as it minimizes the chance of children suffering from psychological trauma.