some people think it's better to choose friends who always have the same opinions as them. Other people believe it's good to have friends who sometimes disagree with them. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Different people have different opinions and perspectives. Certain groups of people think that friends should have same interests and opinions, while others deny this fact, and believe that it is better to have friends with varying opinions. I staunchly agree with the latter view because I believe that friends having different opinions leads to diversity within a friends’ circle and broadens one’s imagination. This essay shall discuss both these viewpoints and argue in favor of the latter.

Referring to the first view, where some people think that choosing pals having same opinions is better. Such individuals believe that having same views, creates increased level of compatibility and mutual understanding. This in turn, results in less disagreements and subsequently, maintaining harmony and friendly relationships among friends. For instance, a recent survey by Education center revealed that 80% of Final Year Undergraduate students in the universities prefer to form groups with students having same interests and views. In the light of these trends, people having this perspective usually choose to become friends with those having similar views.

Contrarily, the proponents of the second viewpoint think that it is better to have friends having different thoughts. This brings diversity among friends which enlarges imagination of other individuals as well. Friends who disagree or show resistance actually provide a reality check, that leads others to make necessary amendments. I firmly endorse this stance, as I believe that disagreement within friends eventually results in perfection. This is also evident through a latest publication in Times Magazine which stated that professors at the Oxford University usually guide First year students to become friends with those having vast and different perspectives and views. Hence, the people of this viewpoint contend that it is in the interest of friends to have friendships with people of different beliefs.

In conclusion, I would concede that, although having friends with same viewpoints creates a sense of mutual understanding and less quarrels among friends, the better approach is to be acquaintance with individuals who have different views. This broadens imagination, yields more ideas and provides a necessary reality check to strive for perfection.