Some people think paying taxes is a big enough contribution to society, while others think people have more responsibilities as members of society than only paying taxes. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

good citizen is a blessing to society. Some people opine that paying taxes is enough contribution towards the society whereas others believe that a good citizen has a lot more responsibilities than just paying taxes. In the following paragraphs I intend to discuss both views. I personally go with the latter view.

There are many reasons why some people say that if a person pays taxes, it is sufficient contribution to the society. Firstly, paying all the taxes and in a timely manner is one of the major responsibilities of a citizen. If one pays taxes, then the government can use the money forfor constructive purposes, like building and maintaining roads, schools, fire protection, defencedefence services etc. The different types of taxes to be paid by citizens are income tax, excise tax, property taxtax, sales tax etc. All taxes paid by people make their lives better.

On the other hand, those who say that just paying taxes is not enough give their reasons asas follows. They say that there are many other obligations, which a good citizen must fulfil. To begin with, voting in elections is very important. When citizens fail to vote or have political opinions,they allow vested interests to have their way. Secondly, they must obey law and order. If all citizens are law abiding, then the whole nation would be a paradise on Earth.

It is also the responsibility of a good citizen to provide public service to the government. This means volunteering for various agencies and charities. Finally, it is a citizen’s duty to scrutinize the government’s actions and take a stand when something wrong happens. When citizens get too complacent, they will not notice when their freedom is being cut down.

To sum up, a good citizen should pay taxes, exercise his voting rights, be law abiding, do voluntary work to help the government and take a stand if anything goes wrong. Just paying taxes is not sufficient contribution to the society.