Some people think rapid population growth in cities only benefits people who live there while others believe that there are disadvantages. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

While some people would argue that a growing city population has a great impact because the city’s facilities expand and, therefore, open opportunities, I believe that a rising number of citizens has a negative impact not only on people who live there but also on the environment.

On the one hand, a growing city opens many opportunities for a great life for its citizens of any age. When the population increases rapidly, not only does the city expand, but new facilities are also built; therefore, many vacancies are open. This allows not only new arrivals to make their homes and get great job opportunities but also many current residents of different financial situations to find work as well. This is why different segments of the population may find a way to create a good life for themselves and their children as new buildings, including schools and offices, are built. However, I believe that rapid growth of the city population has a negative outcome because of the pollution rise and a need to expand factories to keep the areas clean.

On the other hand, the rise of population leads to multiple negative outcomes. When the amount of people in the city increases, consumption of vital resources increases accordingly. This necessitates building new infrastructures to extend the life of these resources; this causes imbalance in the ecosystem because these factories would dirty the environment; therefore, water and soil pollution will influence all of the city’s residents in one way or another. Moreover, the more families there are, the more cars or buses will appear on the road, leading to traffic and air pollution. This causes health problems at any age and requires huge amounts of money to recover; therefore, I believe that a rapid increase in the number of urban residents has a negative influence on people who live in the city.

In conclusion, although the population rise in the city leads to people facing great opportunities because many amazing developments are being constructed, it has a negative side because of the increased consumption that needs to be taken care of.