Some people think rapid population growth in cities only benefits people who live there while others believe that there are disadvantages. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Urban expansion has witnessed a surging rise in its residential population, with the majority moving in expecting to benefit from privileges the city has over the countryside. This has led to the overpopulation of cities, leaving many doubting this idea. While some argue there are several profits people of this mass migration would gain, I believe that the negative impacts of this phenomenon are more significant.

Undeniably, for some with disadvantaged backgrounds, moving into a large city might favour their personal development. Compared to other places, metropolises provide significantly more working opportunities. Consisting of nearly all industry fields, from simple cleaning companies to elite businesses, the city ensures that those of all abilities can find a work, giving even people who did not receive education a chance to make a living. It is in the cosmopolitan cities of Los Angeles where star-player Anthony Davis was once given the chance to take care of his big family in poverty by venturing into basketball, a kind of chance small villages cannot provide. Therefore, it is understandable that some believe that city population growth poses benefits for people living in the city.

However, a fast-growing overpopulated city not only has negative impacts on citizen experience, it actually also damages the environment. For a start, although it is true that there are more working opportunities, there is no guarantee for an appreciable and stable income, especially under such intense competition with increasing people of the same ability immigrating into the city. Those who try to follow the path of lucky individuals, such as previously mentioned basketball players, are almost all going to meet predictable failure. Claiming that they have to sell blood every month to cover living expenses, bloggers from the USA are only a small part of those striving to live in the major cities. Meanwhile, it should also be noted that the development of cities needs many resources, like cement, steel, and electricity, all of which are produced in heavily polluting industrial processes, leading to increased carbon emission, causing acid rain, and thus threatening human welfare. Scientists claim that the expansion of cities are now heavily contributing to the sea level rise. With so many people to supply with, it is impossible for cities not to have negative impact on the environment.

Therefore, it can be concluded that increasing population in cities results in extensive high-level competition and may lead to catastrophic environmental issues. Hence, if we do not maintain a healthy population in cities, both people and the natural environment will suffer.