Some people think rapid population growth in cities only benefits people who live there while others believe that there are disadvantages. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is an ongoing debate whether the population booming in urban areas holds greater benefits rather than drawbacks. This essay will discuss both views and represent my perspective why I lean toward the former view.

On the one hand, adamant supporters of high-speed population growth in urban areas have some reasons that can not be ignored. One of the most conspicuous ones is that it serves as a powerful engine for sustained economic development by diversifying the labor force across various industries. A larger population leads to increased consumerism which requires essential goods and services, ranging from housing and food to healthcare and education. As a result, this surge will create lucrative opportunities for businesses to expand their markets, while also attracting domestic and international investments. Another compelling reason in favor of urban’s fast-paced population growth is that it provides support for an aging population, as maintaining a steady influx of younger individuals through population growth, governments can ensure a more balanced demographic structure.

On the other hand, such a surge in the number of the city’s inhabitants may result in adverse consequences if not accompanied by appropriate policies and planning. In the absence of well-devised employment strategies, a growing workforce brought about by rapid population expansion may backfire by exacerbating unemployment rates. While an increase in working-age can offer great diversity and flexibility across industries, it also creates intense competition for a limited number of jobs.

After epitomizing the essence of both rationales, my conclusion is that this is a two-sided opinion. That being said, I am more inclined to view its benefits as outweighing the drawbacks. I firmly believe that a city’s population growth benefits economic stimulation, labor diversification, and supports an aging population. Therefore, with strategic planning in place, this trend can be a driving force of sustainable development.