Some people think rapid population growth in cities only benefits people who live there while others believe that there are disadvantages. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There are different opinions about the effect of expansion of population in urban areas. Some believe that it is totally positive, while others argue that there could be drawbacks. From my perspective, the rapidly growing population brings both positive and negative effects, and the disadvantages outweight the advantages.

It can not be denied that the rapid increase of population in cities would bring positive influence to people who live there. The most obvious benefit brought by population expansion in cities is the increase of workforce. To illustrate, with more people can receive training and work for the society in various industries, the ecomony can be boosted and enhance the society development as a whole. If the population stopped growing fast, the cities might face the problem of shortage of workforce. This could be devastated to the society’s ecomonic system. For example, countries that have low population growth face serious labour shortages, so they have no solution but to implement policies to encourage the citizens to have children or attract immigrants from other countires to supplement the labour gap.

Despite the rapid growth of population brings adaquate workforce, thus boost the economy, the drawbacks cannot be overlooked. Firstly, the excessively rapid population growth makes the job market much competitive. The amount of position in the job market is relatively stable in a given period. If the population growth exceeded the amount of vaccancy in the job market, many people will not be able to find a job, causing the increase of unemployment rate. Second, the over-rapid population expansion can brings significant pressure to the environment. To be more specific, the cities would be overcrowded due to the large number of people. What’s more, the increase of population means the increase of consumption of energy and natrual reseources, along with more pollution produced.

To sum up, the rapid growth of population indeed benefits the people who already live in the cities, because it brings more workforce and promote the economy. However, it drawbacks overweight the benifits, as it might cause too much pressure on the job market and environment.