Some people think scientific research should focus on solving world health problems. Others think that there are more important issues. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

A school of thought holds that international medical issues should be the first priority of scientific study, while the others think that there are more crucial ones to concern. The purpose of this essay is to discuss both views of this contentious argument and to share my personal perspective.

On the one hand, supporters of the former opinion tend to point out a combination of reasons. First and foremost, despite global investment and dedication throughout countless years, humankind still can not find the complete cure or treatment for numerous fatal diseases such as cancer, AIDS which deprive thousands of lives daily. Hence, more intense attention from scientists and scholars may bring some hope in curing these illnesses completely and effectively, laying the foundation for a better future. Moreover, the need for more human resources to deal with health problems is increasing day by day since there are more and more new diseases appearing in the modern world, for instance COVID-19 or recently HMPV, regarding the air and water pollution and overpopulation in metropolises.

On the other hand, I still believe that other fields should be studied and developed equally for various points. First of all, the advance in technology, which can only be obtained by huge dedication and countless financial investments for research , will be extremely beneficial for humankind in the long run. This could be exemplified by how AI has positively changed the way we work, paving the way for significant improvement in productivity and product’s quality. Furthermore, environmental problems need to be resolved simultaneously with health issues in order to achieve significant results. One way to explain this is that, finding a way to cure an illness is solely a short-term solution, while improving the life condition by coping with pollution such as air or water pollution, which is the root of the problems, is obviously more effective and can bring more merits in the long term.

In conclusion, while agreeing that there are some reasons why world health problems should be considered the most essential for scientific research ,I still believe that the other aspects like technology and environment are more worthy to care about.