Some people think secondary school students should study international news as one of their subjects while others believe that this is a waste of a valuable school time. Discuss both the views and give your own opinion.

Opinions differ regarding the inclusion of global news as a subject in secondary schools. In my perspective, delving into worldwide news holds the potential to inspire greatness in student, thus making it a subject worth studying.

On the one hand, it can be argued that studying international news may not directly benefit student’s future careers. Gaining knowledge about current affairs, such as earthquakes in foreign countries, may not provide tangible skills that increase employability down the line. Consequently, precious hours that can be allocated to subjects more relevant to student’s future careers, such as math and science, may be going to waste. However, i disagree with the argument above, as not every individual aspires to pursue a path in science or engineering. For some students, exploring global event might kindle on interest and in journalism.

On the other hand, studying worldwide news has the power to ignite future greatness in students. When schools incorporate international news into their curriculum, students are regularly exposed to headlines and business news that shape the world today, including rocket launches by entrepreneurs like Elon Musk and Jeff Bezos. This consistent exposure helps inspire them to make impactful contributions to the world as they grow up, just as the influential figures featured in the news do. I firmly support this perspective because I believe that, apart from imparting knowledge schools should also be a source of inspiration for student to discover their highest aspirations, and this can be achieved through the study of global news.

In conclusion, while studying world affairs may not have a direct career benefit, it has the potential to spark greatness in young student and, therefore, should be included as a subject in secondary schools.