Some people think secondary school students should study international news as one of their subjectsOther people say this is a waste of valuable school time. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People hold divergent views regarding whether the integration of the new subject, international news, should be studied by secondary school students, while some individuals argue that this new lesson unnecessarily consumes students’ valuable time.

One common argument in favor of including international news as a subject in secondary schools is that it can enhance students’ awareness of global events and critical thinking skills. Studying international news provides students with knowladge about world conditions, various cultures and global issues. For example, students who follow world news are more likely to participate in informed debates and discussions, both in schools and later in society.

Despite its benefits, some educators point out that international news might take valuable time away from essential academic subjects. Integration of new subjects can negatively influence core subjects and may reduce the time to allocated to mathematics, physics or the mother tongue. For example; students may get distracted by unnecessary lessons, and as a result, they may struggle to manage their existing workload effectively.

In conclusion, while gaining knowladge of international news might take valuable time, schools can introduce it in a restrickted manner. As a result; students can learn about international news while still studying core subjects.