Some people think that a person improves their intellectual skills more when doing group activities. To what extent do you agree? Use specific details and examples to explain your view.

It is believed by some people that group activities foster better improvement in cognitive skills. While many people are for the viewpoint, I contend that self-study plays a equally crucial role in intellectual development.

On the one hand, engaging in group learning provides benefits for enhancing cognitive skills. First of all, studying as a group expands people’s perspectives.by facilitating brainstorming, which allows a broader range of ideas to come up emerge complementing each other’s knowledge gaps. For example, when students from distinctive academic backgrounds collaborate, such as political and economic students addressing environmental issues, they can offer diverse insights, enriching each other’s understanding. Moreover, group thinking enables people to think about things deeply delve deeper into topics as arguments and debates inspire critical thinking. For instance, in law enforcement, conducting case seminars involving multiple officers is a normal routine for effective criminal investigation.

Although group work can support intellectual improvement in several aspects, it would be remiss to overlook the importance of solitary learning. Firstly, independent learning allows for personal styles. Individual learning styles would often be overshadowed by the predominant style of learning within a group. The progression of someone who is accustomed to inferring meaning in his mind will be disrupted. In addition, learning in isolation accommodates individual personality. Because at times, group work is likely to create an unequal environment where extroverted people dominate discussions, marginalizing the contributions of introverted people. The situation is able to hinder personal cognitive growth.

In conclusion, both group learning and self-study are imperative to for developing cognitive capability. Group work allows people to think broadly and deeply in a way that solitary study cannot replicate. But self-study accommodates personal thinking styles and individual characteristics that cannot be replaced by collaborative study. Both methods have unique advantages that can complement each other. Therefore, to strike a balance between independent learning and groupthink is essential for success in intellectual growth.