Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, the problem of competition at work, at school and in daily life has become a hotly debated question. Many people believe that having competition is a good thing, while others take the opposite approach. From my point of view, competition is beneficial as it serves as a strong tool to motivate people.

With regard of the view that believes having more cooperation is better than competition, there are several reasons for this. First of all, having too much competition can somewhat hurt the relationship between co-workers, classmates, or friends. Taking sport competition as an example, athletes that are hoping to win gold metals may take some illegal or inappropriate measures [o develop competitive advantages or hurt others” competitive advantages, which may bring negative impacts to the relationship between these players. Secondly, trying to cooperate with others rather than competing against each other can improve efficiency and enhance innovation in some cases. For instance, forming a small group to work on a specific project can significantly shorten the amount of time spend on this project.

In contrast, having competition in people’s daily lives can also bring many benefits. Keeping competition at a constant and appropriate level can help to improve the quality of work. Based on my experience, students can finish their assignments faster and have a higher correct rate when competing against each other, which is the most critical thing in academy. Additionally, competition can bring pressure and stress to people, which can drive them to work towards their goals and prevent them from getting lazy. There are some criticisms that say to much pressure and competition are harmful for people’s mental heath; but I believe that they can stimulate motivate people.

In conclusion, although cooperation can bring some benefits to innovation and efficiency, I still believe that having competition in daily life is more effective in comparison to simply cooperate with others.