Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

It is believed by many that competition is essential in daily life, while many others agree that cooperation should be prioritized over competition. Although people can benefit from competing against each other at work or school, I believe cooperation is much more important than competition.

Admittedly, competition can motivate people to perform better at school and work, which may result in better academic abilities and higher salaries. Students need to compete on grades because a higher score means potentially stronger learning ability, which helps them fit into society well after graduation. Moreover, adults need to compete in the job market, and those who are more competitive usually have more skills and higher qualifications, helping them catch influential opportunities.

On the other hand, others believe cooperation is more important, and I agree. The main reason for this is that, as people, we do not live alone and instead need to cooperate with many individuals for various purposes in each of our life stages. From cooperation with others, we can learn how to communicate with others, how to negotiate, and how to defend ourselves. Another reason to cooperate is that teamwork is more beneficial because it is almost impossible for individuals to compete against teams. Team members usually have different strengths and thus can complete each other, which is crucial for success.

In conclusion, even though competition is helpful in people’s daily lives, I believe the social nature of humans and the efficiency of teamwork make cooperation more significant.