Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

In today’s world, with the growing difficulty in child-rearing, there is a growing body of opinion that supports using competitive methods that encourage children. However, other people argue that teaching the child how to be co-operative would be more effective. This essay will discuss the merits and demerits of both these views.

From my own perspective, teaching the child the concept of cooperation is more beneficial for him as an individual and for the whole society as well. Firstly, it makes him understand the fundamental meaning of teamwork, and how to focus on the whole team’s benefits rather than his own achievement solely. Secondly, it contributes to him feeling like an adult with a sense of responsibility instead of treating him as a child who is not aware of anything but how to compete with his colleagues. However, this method has its own drawbacks. It is not easy for a child at a very young age to realiz these values. In addition, it may not work well with all young people.

On the other hand, teaching children with competitive methods often leads to a better performance. For instance, when a school makes a contest between students regarding certain activity, every student is seen to be doing his best to be on the top. Moreover, it makes the child learn how to prioritize himself, which is essential with a balance between being unselfish and not ignoring his own goals. However, we cannot ignore the disadvantages of this method as well, as in some cases it can result in bringing up selfish individuals.

In conclusion, both these views have their advantages and disadvantages. Teaching children how to co-operate makes them able to work simultaneously in a team and grows their sense of responsibility although it can be harder, while competitive methods usually reflect the child’s best performance and make him prioritize himself although they can make him selfish. In my opinion, we should teach them how to be co-operative.