Some people think that a sense of competition should be encouraged in children. Others believe that children who are taught to cooperate rather than compete become more useful alduts. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Most of the people believe that competition in children should be encouraged whereas, other think that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults.

While a competition increases motivation, engagement, and social skills however competing a child with others can cause a lot of problems, such as lack of confidence, self doubt, hatred, aggression, anxiety, and frustration. A student might worry about disappointing his or her parents and teachers or losing status among peers. For example, when I was a little my parents never really forced me to compete with others but definitely wanted me to get better scores then them. So, they use to ask me to sit with toppers and wanted me to be a topper as well.

Whereas, competition is about keeping others at a lower level than yourself, and on the other hand cooperation is about lifting all of us up. Cooperation is to share ideas, build on each other’s knowledge and support each other and work as a team. My parents have always encouraged me to be competitive with others just to get good grades and just focus on studies. As well as, to be more co-operative and work in team, they said it helps in learning more than anything. When we work with different people it means different minds and more knowledge.

To sum up all, both competition and cooperation are helpful in a way, but cooperation makes us learn more, grow better and helps us to work with different people all around the world. By teaching children to help each other is much better than to tell them to compete.