Some people think that children should be allowed to use smartphones and tablets freely, while others believe that strict limits should be placed on their screen time. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is often argued whether children should be permitted to use computers and smartphones from an early age or should its use be restricted. While some believe, keeping children engaged in smart devices, allocates parents some personal time, others think its long-term use hinders the psychological development and normal functioning of the brain. From my perspective, excessive use of such devices should be prevented and regulated.

On one hand, when children have access to smart devices from an early age, it keeps them busy and allows parents to have some free time. During this time, parents may be able to perform essential tasks such as cooking, cleaning and self-care. For example, a mother with a two-years-old toddler might always be occupied with keeping the baby entertained and have less time for herself. However, playing a video on YouTube may engage the child and let the mother enjoy a home spa. As a result, parents will feel relaxed and it will reduce the chances of them developing anxiety or depression.

On the contrary, using computers or smartphones for prolonged hours causes various health issues in children. Colourful displays and fast-moving visuals on the screen affect the cognitive development of the child. A good example of this is a survey conducted by mayo clinic which showed increased prevalence of Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder in youngsters who watched excessive cartoons in their early childhood. Consequently, it affects the overall well-being of the children.

In conclusion, I tend to believe that in order to protect a child’s neurological system, screen-time should be limited. As far as parent’s relaxation is concerned, other options should be explored like hiring a baby-sitter.