Some people think that countries should limit the amount of food that they import and mainly eat products from their own country. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Along with the developments of worldwide shipping, lots of countries have been importing commodities from another country, including foods. This phenomenon is causing the domestic marketplace to offer more imported products instead of local-made products. Based on the results in daily life implementations, local citizens are showing much more interests to foreign products compared to the locals. The public’s responses to this situation seem to be varying.

The approach of this issue began to arise when society started to recognize more foreign stuffs since social media have been more accessible, connecting them to the variety of meals around the world. The merchants noticing, decided to take this opportunity as a way to attract the customers by selling imported products. In reality, you can see local products being ignored and not getting good sales, the gap to imported products is very far away.

Despite local products not receiving enough recognition in this case, the blame cannot be given to the customers. The fact that technology in developed countries are more advanced is undeniable, causing them to be able to produce better stuffs. On the other hand, local products can barely compete with the quality, making it understandable that many people prefer imported products. According to my opinion, consuming products from abroad is inevitable, however we can start minimizing the consumption of imported products.

To conclude, prohibiting the society to eat imported products is an unhelpful way, considering that many people are dependence on the availability of these products. It doesn’t go against the statement that we should eat more local products, but it is in fact an unrealistic suggestion to stop consuming imported products. Distributing imported products also contributes in keeping a market’s financial and earnings stable, after reviewing that the society’s preference has more tendency towards imported products.