Some people think that good health is very important to every person, so medical services should not be run by profit-making companies. Do the advantages of private health care outweigh the disadvantages?

So essential has the idea of exceptional health become to people that medical services should not be run by profiteers companies. Especially for private healthcare, I personally believe, would bring about more significant disadvantages despite some advantages that I will outline in my essay below.

Looking first at the drawbacks, perhaps, we can say that one major drawback from this notion would be the problem with such private healthcare which is not only oriented towards health services, but also towards profit. It’s possible that excessive healthcare procedures are performed to maximize profits. Even though patients can recover with low-dose medications, doctors prescribe higher doses. Furthermore, medical examinations are also performed excessively to increase costs. For instance, overutilization and overtreatment by hospitals, such as repeated blood tests, unnecessary lengths of stay, and excessive consultations, are common.

Moving to the benefits, we can see that private hospitals provide the best healthcare facilities and services to their patients. For example, exclusive inpatient rooms, professional doctors, friendly nurses, sophisticated medical equipment, and high-quality medications. These various facilities and services create a gap between private and public hospitals, as is the case in Indonesia.

In conclusion, while private healthcare clearly excels in offering physical facilities and amenities, these benefits are offset by the systemic risks posed by the profit motive. When financial incentives drive medical determination, the potential for overutilization and increased patient risk is inevitable. The healthcare sector, crucial for flourishing, should not be used as a business opportunity to maximize profits under the guise of providing optimal healthcare.