Some people think that government funding for schools should be spent on science subjects rather than on other subjects. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is no denying, with rapid advancement of technology, science has been becoming more and more crucial and valuable. Whereas some people look upon more government funding for schools be spent on science subjects as something necessary, others refer to it as something imbalanced. As for my perspective, I’m opposed to this letter, and the reason will be thoroughly elaborated on as follows.

Firstly, not all students like science; therefore, other students who choose other majors can’t benefit from government founding. That is only specific group of scientific students who can get advantage. Consequently, the allocation of budget will be overconcentrated in one area.

Take Taiwan for example, students normally choose major based on their own interest. If government putting more resources on science, parents may interfere with children’s decision.In order to make children get success smoothly in the future but students’s preferences will be sacrificed. Furthermover, this procedure is unfaire for thoses students who study other mjaors, beside science.

Secondly, if government spend funding only on science, more workforce will join to the scientific industries. That is, the distribution of talent will be imbalanced dramatically, leading to shortage in various industries. According to a statistic from Ministry of Labor in Taiwan, the workforce in service industries made up more than 47% in 2024; however, the proportion continue dropping, due to lack of a lourcative salaries. Therefore the service industries is facing a severe shortage in recent years. Although, science is considered high-valued and vital industry in Taiwan, government should putting more resource on service industry first to support the basic of econmy.

In conclusion, based on aforementioned, government funding should’nt spent on sicence subject solely, because not all student like science and the imbalance of talent.