Some people think that government funding for schools should be spent on science subjects rather than on other subjects. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is undeniable/ not for discussion that the government should spend a reasonable amount of funding on schools, since all of humanity’s problems come from ignorance. As far as I’m concerned, I disagree strongly, and I will elaborate on my opinion and expand on the reasoning of both sides below.

To begin with, it is not surprising that some people favor STEM subjects over human sciences and arts. Science develops critical thinking, which mostly helps with solving various life problems. It is one of the most versatile fields and has a plethora of job opportunities that are collateral to it. Due to the viability of the discipline, it is widely scattered amongst different unrelated professions, for instance, the philosophy university program tends to have math in it.

Although science is crucial in a great number of occupations, in my opinion, other areas should not be neglected as well. In Ancient Greece, for example, a considerable amount of time was spent in the gymnasiums, because it was thought that the training of the body should be as intense as that of a mind. As a result, it was the country to first invent philosophy, and systemize hard sciences. I suppose the educational system is designed the way it is, with some mandatory subjects, is to ensure everyone gets the same amount of knowledge, and that their perspective is broadened. Albeit human sciences are seemingly unrelated to hard ones, there is a correlation between most bright science geniuses also having aptitudes for music and painting.

To summarize, it is essential that the funding should be spent on all of the subjects evenly, to ensure students’ equable development.