Some people think that having a set retirement age (e.g. 65 years) for everybody, regardless of occupation, is unfair. They believe that certain workers deserve to retire and receive a pension at an earlier age. Do you agree or disagree? Which types of workers do you think should benefit from early retirement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Many argue that a set retirement age for all occupation is unfair and workers in certain field should be able to retire and receive benefits at an earlier age. I strongly agree with this opinion and this essay will discuss who should be entitled to these benefits.

A set retirement age is unfair for a variety of reasons, topping the list of arguments against a common retirement age is personal health. Some work in more dangerous and draining jobs than others, some might not have the health to carry on working until they are allowed to retire. These people have good reason to leave early and therefore they should be allowed to do so and receive the appropriate benefits when they do. Having equal welfare for everyone regardless of their contribution also discourages people from working hard and reducing their productivity.

Not every job is equal; therefore, we should not give equal benefits to everyone. Military servicemen are specially important and should be given elevated treatments. Active duty personnel bare the responsibility of protecting a nation’s interest and security, should a conflict brake out, they will be the first to put there lives on the line to fight for the nation. No doubt, their work is the cornerstone to national security; therefore, it is necessary that servicemen receive special benefits to repay them for their service to the country. Another type of worker that should be able to leave early is engineers working in dangerous environments such as off-shore oil rigs. These professionals have to work in harsh conditions that might expose them to health risks that workers in other fields do not have to face. Their work also has great importance to society and contribute greatly to economic growth. Thus, these workers are entitled to more benefits than others. Alongside servicemen and engineers, doctors should also be eligible for special treatments. Medical practitioners endure physical and mental strains from their daily job. Their work plays a crucial role to public health and safety and that is why they ought to receive more than others.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that a set retirement age is unjust and people should be allowed to leave the job market early and get the appropriate welfare according to their work. By taking an inclusive approach to this matter, we can ensure a healthy workforce and every voice is heard and accounted for.