Some people think that having a set retirement age (e.g. 65 years) for everybody, regardless of occupation, is unfair. They believe that certain workers deserve to retire and receive a pension at an earlier age. Do you agree or disagree? Which types of workers do you think should benefit from early retirement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is often argued that it is injustice to set a fixed retirement age for all regardless of the occupation and health conditions. In my opinion, retirement should depend not only on biological age but also other reasons such as the occupation, health and other factors that affect the productivity of the employees.

Firstly, retiring from professional life should be a personal choice. However, we have government set policies on a fixed age limit to retire, this is a huge drawback on some workers as they do not have the freedom to retire early on from their career if they wish to do so. For example, we have all witnessed the life of workers who work on coal mines or oil rigs. They are continuously exposed to high temperatures and uncertainty due to sudden exposure of poisonous gas and the temperature is at all the time high. These workers also face a lot of health issues later in their life. For these reasons people who work in a very challenging environment should be given an option to retire early on in their life.

Secondly , businessmen all around the globe do not have a fixed age limit to retire . they often retire s and when they seem fit. It is unfair to establish a strict rule for retirement only for people employed by larger organizations. For example, Bill gates continue to own a portion of Microsoft even during his 70’s, whereas people who are employed by larger organizations are expected to retire by 65.

In conclusion , retirement should be based on personal interest and employes who whish to continue their professional journey work should continue to do so , if not ,people who work in extreme conditions should be given an opportunity to retire early on in their life based on their need.