Some people think that illegal Internet downloads are having a negative effect on the music industry. Others feel that these have little or no impact on artists. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Some people believe that illegal downloads via the internet are negatively affecting the industry, while others argue that it has a minimal impact on artists. Although streaming platforms are created to protect artists, I believe that illegal downloads caused disruption in the industry and a significant number of employees lost their jobs.

One reason is that illegal downloads have a small or no impact on artists, because the industry shifted towards streaming platforms. Musicians release their tracks or albums on a streaming site, and they get rewarded once the track is streamed. It can also evolve into a free marketing strategy for unknown artists. When individuals download their tracks, it could inspire them to buy tickets to a live performance by the artist. Lastly, some artists have alternative revenues that insures further income. Many artists have introduced their own brand in the fashion industry like Rihanna’s clothing company called Fenty.

On the other hand, illegal downloads on the internet caused a great loss in revenue for the music industry. Due to significant decrease in income, they cannot support their artists. Secondly, it caused disruption in the industry and forced major changes. Widespread piracy like Napster required industries to switch from physical sales to digital, triggering significant employment layoffs. It also reduces innovation and growth among entertainers. Record companies’ future growth is restricted. Financial loss can limit record labels to sign or develop new upcoming musicians due to the lack of proper funding. Finally, artists lose income for every illegal download on the internet. Every artist has copyright of each track they produce, and every download causes them to lose an undisclosed percentage on sales.

In conclusion, this essay discussed the small impact illegal downloads have on artists, such as free marketing. It also discussed reasons why illegal downloads negatively impact the music industry, such as, development of new artists. I therefore believe that illegal downloading music can cause someone their occupation.