Some people think that intelligence is innate while others think that we can improve intelligence through learning. Discuss both sides and give your opinions.

People have different views on what determines one’s intelligence. While it is true that some individuals are born with this trait, I would argue that intelligence can be nurtured by learning.

Intelligence is thought to be innate for a number of reasons. Studies have shown that children’s performance at school varies greatly despite the fact that they come from similar family backgrounds. Even identical twins that are brought up in the same environment experience this difference as genes are inherited differently by each child. Moreover, some kids are found to have phenomenal abilities that no one has ever taught them. For example, they can remember all telephone numbers at a glance, or speak a new language after a short period of exposure to it. In these cases, biological factors seem to be the most reasonable explanations.

In spite of the above arguments, I believe that learning is the ultimate factor that decides intelligence. There are many real life examples of successful individuals who started out as average kids at school, yet eventually became leading figures in their field by constantly exposing themselves to challenges that allowed them to learn. One might make foolish mistakes in the learning process, but this gives them the knowledge and wisdom to improve whatever they are trying to produce. In contrast, some kids that were born genius fail to gain achievements in life as they do not know how to harness their gifted talents.

To sum up, intelligence might be an already assigned feature at birth, but it can certainly be enhanced through learning.