Some people think that intelligence is innate while others think that we can improve intelligence through learning. Discuss both sides and give your opinions.

The nature of intelligence is complex and debated topic. Many people argue that this acumen is genetically inherited, while others believe that it can be developed. In this essay I will explore both the views and assert the fact that a balanced approach is crucial, as intelligence is a sophisticated interplay of innate qualities as well as external factors.

Proponents of genetic inheritance opine the fact that intelligence is inbuilt and it is largely influenced by genes. The structure and function of the brain is largely determined by parent’s genetics, which play a crucial role in intelligence. As a result, it is often seen that some people show better cognitive skills since childhood, it is because these qualities are inherited in them. For instance, we see that many successful parents have children that do wonders in their careers.

Conversely, several individuals believe that intelligence it can be enhanced through outer sources like environment, and learning. This is because quality education, and access to learning resources significantly develop our intellectual capabilities. Additionally, a person can improve its cognitive functions through problem solving and critical thinking exercises. For example, a student can perform better in mathematics if he/she keeps on practising it even if it may not be in their genes.

To conclude, in my opinion it is necessary to understand that intelligence is dependent on both the factors. While innate abilities are important, the role of learning and environment is equally significant. Thus, there must be a well-rounded approach to understand the intricacies of intelligence.