Some people think that it is more effective for students to study in a group while others believe that it is better for them to study alone. Discuss both views and give your opinion

People have different views about whether students should work collaboratively with each other or whether they should study on their own. In my opinion, each studying method has its own advantages, and therefore, choosing which method to employ depends on the student.

On the one hand, studying in a group can bring students many benefits. Firstly, if students study with others, when a question regarding the subject they are learning arises, they can discuss that question and have it fully and immediately answered, which can greatly facilitate their learning process. Secondly, students can have further discussions over the issue raised in their textbook or by their instructor if they study in a group. For example, a group of law students can discuss whether the practice of abortion is a violation of human rights or not. Each student will have a chance to listen to the views of others with regard to the problem, present their own Ideas and discuss those Ideas with other students. Thanks to this, all students will have a more thorough insight into the issue.

On the other hand, studying alone also proves to be effective for many students. Some students prefer to study alone in a quiet environment in order to be able to better concentrate on studying and prevent themselves from being disturbed by others. There are also other students who study more effectively if they are alone because this allows them to work at their own pace. For example, when studying independently, a student can spend more time researching a topic that he or she is interested in or does not adequately understand. This is nearly impossible if that student studies in a group where members have to stick to the group’s studying schedule.

In conclusion, studying in a group or studying alone can be equally advantageous to students. Students should adopt the studying method which they consider to be more effective and suitable for them.